Foundation Learning Professional Standards Framework

Tapatoru describes the capability of those working with foundation-level learners or clients. The skill levels or papa of Tapatoru are woven through the other models and PLD offerings.

This is a holistic, learner-centred framework that incorporates Mātauranga Māori and integrates three dimensions:

  1. Professional values: Ō tātou uara – What we value.
  2. Professional knowledge: Ō tātou mōhiotanga –  What we understand.
  3. Professional practice: Ā tātou mahi – What we do.

The Tapatoru standards:

  • encompass trades training, vocational education and foundation learning
  • incorporate current approaches to embedding literacy and numeracy
  • integrate with other professional standards frameworks
  • include cultural competencies based on Māori and Pacific values.

Tapatoru was developed as a resource for providing practitioners with professional recognition of their experience and expertise. Practitioners can measure themselves against the standards. In 2019 we will trial a process of practitioners submitting a portfolio of evidence which can lead to them receiving an award at one of four skill levels.

The foundation learning professional standards awards cover four different skill levels of practitioners working within a variety of contexts, including:

  1. pastoral care or learning support staff with no or limited teaching responsibilities or new practitioners
  2. teaching and learning support practitioners seeking to expand their understanding and practice
  3. more experienced practitioners seeking to extend or verify their understanding and practice as well as a relevant specialisation
  4. highly experienced practitioners with a demonstrated record of effective leadership in the field of foundation-level education.

Interested in the Tapatoru for yourself or your staff? Fill out the Tapatoru enquiry form below for more information.