

Introducing the new Te Tohu Reo Māori Award for 2024

Tono Mai! Submit or support a nomination in the 2024 round

Te Whatu Kairangi celebrates outstanding educators across the entire tertiary education sector who are making a difference to learners, their whānau and communities. These awards are about building sector capability for learner success in Aotearoa.

The nomination process for 2024
Te Whatu Kairangi Awards round is now open. Nominate an educator or group for one of the following awards: Kaupapa Māori, Le Moana Mua (Pacific) or General (with six categories to choose from). Also new in 2024, Te Tohu Reo Māori individual award.



Whakaahua/Image: Te reo Māori champion, Dr Enoka Murphy, speaking at Te Whatu Kairangi 2023 ceremony as Prime Minister's 'Educator of the Year', and recipient of a Kaupapa Māori Award. Dr Murphy, pictured here with whānau at the Parliament event, is Senior Lecturer at Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao | School of Māori and Pacific Development, Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato | University of Waikato.

New award for 2024 - Te Tohu Reo Māori

An important and exciting new award joins Te Whatu Kairangi programme for 2024. Te Tohu Reo Māori is designed to shine a light on the practice of kaiako who are teaching te reo Māori anywhere across the tertiary sector. Te Tohu Reo Māori will celebrate those who have worked relentlessly and successfully among whānau, teaching and learning institutions, and wider communities to teach, revitalise and normalise te reo Māori for future generations.

One Te Tohu Reo Māori award worth \$15,000 is offered in the 2024 round. Anyone can be a nominator for this award – go to pg. 16 of the <u>Criteria and Guidelines document</u> for all information. The nomination process for this award has been simplified to two steps: Step 1 (for nominators) closes on 16 April; Step 2 (for shortlisted nominees) closes on 28 June.



Being part of these awards is being part of something big!

More about the Te Whatu Kairangi Awards

Whether you are being nominated, getting a group nomination together or supporting someone else to enter, being part of these awards is being part of something big! The addition of the te reo Māori award – Te Tohu Reo Māori – in 2024 continues the evolution of Te Whatu Kairangi towards a more inclusive and diverse awards programme.

This new award follows significant changes in 2023, when we introduced the Le Moana Mua (Pacific) award and a strengthened Group award. We are delighted that the introduction of these two awards resulted in success for two individual Pacific educators and three diverse groups in the 2023 awards.

We encourage people to submit a nomination or nominate an educator or group they know. There are four kinds of awards to choose from:

- Kaupapa Māori (individual or group)
- Le Moana Mua (individual or group)
- General (individual or group)
- Te Tohu Reo Māori.

Award benefits

Individual awardees receive a grant of \$15,000 and Groups will receive a total of \$20,000. A further \$10,000 grant is allocated to one overall awardee as the Prime Minister's Educator of the Year.

Who can enter

We encourage nominations from any tertiary educator who has been working in an education position for at least four years full-time, or equivalent, and is employed with an organisation that receives Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) funding. This includes educators from Industry Training Organisations, Private and Government Training Establishments, Adult & Community Education, Wānanga, Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics, Universities and more.

Submit or support a nomination

All information and forms at: ako.ac.nz/te-whatu-kairangi



