TTEA awardees 2020 collage


New Zealand's top tertiary teachers announced!

13 August 2020

Kia hiwa rā! Nine outstanding teachers will receive national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards (TTEA) in 2020. 

Selected for their sustained excellence in tertiary teaching and determined commitment to learners and their success, they join more than 230 tertiary teachers to be recognised nationally since the Awards began in 2002. Five of the nine awardees are from the Kaupapa Māori category, representing the most recognised in any one year since the category was introduced in 2010. 

The full list of the TTEA 2020 Awardees includes:  

Kaupapa Māori Category 

  • Yolanda Heta-Lensen (Ngāpuhi me Ngāti Hine), Senior Lecturer, School of Community Studies, Unitec Institute of Technology 
  • Dr Rhys Jones (Ngāti Kahungunu), Senior Lecturer, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori, The University of Auckland  
  • Kay-Lee Jones (Te Aitanga ā Māhaki), Pūkenga-Lecturer, School of Teacher Education, College of Education, Health and Human Development, University of Canterbury 
  • Dr Awanui Te Huia (Ngāti Maniapoto), Senior Lecturer, Te Kawa a Māui (School of Māori Studies), Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington 
  • Dr Anne-Marie Jackson (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua, Ngāti Kahu o Whangaroa), Associate Professor, Māori Physical Education and Health, Co-Director of Te Koronga School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences, University of Otago 

General Category 

  • Anuj Bhargava, Professional Teaching Fellow, School of Medical Sciences, The University of Auckland 
  • Josie Crawley, Principal Lecturer, School of Nursing, Otago Polytechnic 
  • Dr Maxine Lewis, Senior Lecturer, Classical Studies and Ancient History, The University of Auckland 
  • Dr Kirstine Moffat, Associate Professor, Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences, The University of Waikato 

Ako Aotearoa Director, Helen Lomax is thrilled to be making the announcement in such a challenging year.  

“This year is proving to be incredibly difficult for everyone working in tertiary education, and the challenges are ongoing. We acknowledge the additional stress placed on the efforts of nominees and their organisations to prepare and submit their nominations. Despite this, we can celebrate the success of these outstanding educators.” 

“I also thank the TTEA Panel Chair, Phil Ker, our panel and reviewers, who are all to be acknowledged for working together so effectively to deliver the final list of awardees under such trying circumstances. Ako Aotearoa congratulates them all.” 

“We look forward to confirming the arrangements for celebrating their achievements and, also, for announcing who amongst the nine will receive the top honour - the Prime Minister’s Supreme Award.” she adds.  

Read the 2020 Awardees profiles.