Te Whatu Kairangi conference banner


Te Whatu Kairangi online information sessions | 27 Feb - 13 Mar 2024

Event Details

27 February 2024
28 February 2024
1 March 2024
13 March 2024

11:00 am - 12:00 pm



Free Register

Ako Aotearoa will be hosting four separate one-hour online sessions about the Kaupapa Māori, Le Moana Mua, General, and the new Te Tohu Reo Māori Awards.

Te Tohu Reo Māori is the exciting new award for kaiako Māori who teach te reo Māori in tertiary education and training. It acknowledges those who have worked tirelessly with their ākonga, organisations, whānau and communities to promote, normalise, and encourage te reo Māori usage in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Join the following sessions:

  • Te Tohu Reo Māori Award Session | Tuesday 27 February, 11am–12pm
    Dr Joe Te Rito and John Milne (Ako Aotearoa).
  • General Award Session | Wednesday 28 February, 11am–12pm
    Ruth Peterson (Ako Aotearoa) and James Oldfield (2016 Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awardee).
  • Kaupapa Māori Award Session | Friday 1 March, 11am–12pm
    Dr Mei Winitana (Ako Aotearoa) and Professor Mera Penehira (Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi, 2019 Tertiary Teaching Excellence - Kaupapa Māori Awardee)
  • Le Moana Mua Award Session | Wednesday 13 March, 11am–12pm
    Saylene Tanielu-Ulberg (Ako Aotearoa) and Dr Marcia Leenen-Young (2022 Te Whatu Kairangi – Pacific Endorsement Awardee).

Register Now


Ako Aotearoa National Office