Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards

Ngā Whakawhiwhinga Tohu Whakaako

Ako Aotearoa is proud to announce the revised guidelines for the 2019 national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards.  

The procedures and criteria are now:

  • more inclusive
  • more flexible
  • more focused. 

Portfolios can include multimedia material (video and/or audio), as well as text.  The maximum length of portfolios is reduced, and the criteria are less prescriptive. 

For more detail, download Revised Procedures, Guidelines and Criteria - Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards Nominations 2019 (PDF, 3.7MB, 22-pages). 

About the awards

Every year, more than a dozen of our country's top teachers are celebrated at the national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards, hosted by the Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Innovation.

Since 2001, the awards have recognised more than 200 of this country’s top tertiary teachers. The categories include: 

  • General – Sustained Excellence in Tertiary Teaching (up to 10 annual awards, each worth $20,000) 
  • Kaupapa Māori – Sustained Excellence for Tertiary Teaching in a Kaupapa Māori Context ( up to three annual awards, each worth $20,000) 
  • Excellence in Supporting Pacific Learners endorsement (one annual endorsement selected from the above two category nominees, worth $5,000) 
  • Prime Minister’s Supreme Award (one annual award selected from the above nominees, worth an additional $10,000).